Hallowe’en 2014

I wish a happy Hallowe’en to all of my friends around the world.Illustration of Rambling Ratz being turned into a frog by a rat witch

For more information about this and related festivals, you might like to read last year’s blog post, here.

As you can see from the image to the right, I made the mistake of buying cheap candy to fob off the “trick or treaters” and now my hat keeps slipping off my head.

photo of frogWhile on the subject of frogs; I encountered a common frog last night who had come in out of the rain. Frogs are obviously getting more nesh these days. They should be starting to hibernate at this time of the year, but the weather has been rather mild recently. Actually, the frogs come in to this passageway in search of slugs, which in turn are attracted to the bag of bird seed that is kept there. Gardeners, frogs are your friends, consider a pond, even a tiny one and a log pile to encourage frogs and toads to eat up your slugs and snails. There is a useful website about attracting frogs to your garden, here.

6 thoughts on “Hallowe’en 2014

  1. Lovely post πŸ™‚ I had to look up “nesh” – cos I guessed it meant bold! I see wiki says it means susceptible to cold! haha
    I do like frogs, especially hearing their little peeping sounds at night πŸ™‚
    Happy Hallowe’en to you too πŸ™‚

  2. Happy Hallowe’en to you ramblingratz! After ready your post I decided I better go out and buy some new candy. The candy I had has been around for a while. After what happened to you I got worried! The was a famous poem that started out.. “Is the frog the farmer’s friend, is the frog the farmer’s friend, I don’t know, I don’t know…”
    Can’t remember the rest and I’m not sure it was famous?

    Alan

Leave a Reply

