Haiga Online

Illustration of Matsuo Basho

Kinkoku, Yokoi (1761-1832): A portrait of the poet Basho, with his most famous poem “An old pond – a frog jumps in -” – courtesy Wikimedia Commons

Regular readers will have noticed that I quite often like to sneak a Haiku poem into my posts. They are invariably by 17th century Japanese poet Matsuo Bashō. Haiku have a very particular structure and often relate to nature and seasons. I find they sum up some of my nature posts very nicely.

I have to thank Anita Virgil for bringing to my attention the art form of Haiga; an illustration that partners a Haiku. I was also greatly honoured that she chose one of my photographs to accompany a lovely haiku by David LeCount. You can see it, along with others, here, at Haigaonline. There is more information, poetry and illustration here. I know many of my readers are poets themselves or have a love of poetry so please click the links and take a look.

Additional: To make it clear, “Haiga” includes the illustration and poem together. There are more Haiga galleries here.

6 thoughts on “Haiga Online

Leave a Reply

