World Book Day 2016

Thursday 3rd March is World Book Day in the UK. Every child in full time education is given a £1 token to spend on a range of specially produced £1 books.Photo of Aesop's Fables Book

It is also celebrated by children dressing up as their favourite characters from books. Although there have been distressing reports of disorganised parents sending their children to school dressed as pages from the Argos catalogue! The official website containing information and competitions is here.

I have rooms filled with piles of books and couldn’t possibly choose a favourite. Books are so important for providing facts and information; disseminating ideas; shaping cultural identity; providing an escape from reality; and for the sheer pleasure of reading. Some people get snooty about graphic novels, or even illustrations in a book, personally I find the two artforms complement each other perfectly. I have chosen to photograph “Aesop’s Fables”, partly because it was close to the top of the pile, it is also beautifully illustrated and the tales were a big part of my childhood. Aesop’s Fables can be read here at Project Gutenberg. Happy reading whatever you choose, even if it is only the Argos catalogue!

5 thoughts on “World Book Day 2016

  1. My brothers and I were brought up on books (despite our family’s lack of money). We always had a story read to us at bedtime and every time we asked our parents a question, they (well, mainly my Mother) would say go look it up in the encyclopaedia. My parents bought the Encyclopaedia Britannica for the family at some exorbitant cost back in those days. I wonder what happened to them? I guess my Parents sold them before they downsized moving into a Retirement Village some 20+ years ago.

    Every Thursday or Saturday afternoon was spent at the local public library by our whole family right up til we finished our secondary education (and them moved on to Tertiary level).

    Up until a few years ago, I would usually read 7-8 books a week (being a speed reader). I always said if I had nothing else in the world in retirement but books, I’d be happy. I was never to know that failing memory, intermittent cognitive dysfunction and poor eyesight would make fiction impossibly hard to read now that I’m old(er).

    I donated about 400 fiction (and a few non-fiction) books to the local library (and charity shop) 2 years ago. But I still seem to have about 300 books (with only about 7-8 being fiction). I vowed to re-read every non-fiction book before I died, but I’ve only read about 7-8 in the last 4-5 years, so I guess that means I’m going to have to live to 150 to get through them all 🙂 .

    Whenever I’ve been in a house with no books in sight, I wonder about that person or family.

Leave a Reply

