Bumblebees and Flowers

The start of spring has been a pretty dull and wet affair, but it just takes an occasional bit of sunshine to make the flowers bloom and the bees buzz. Photo of red-tailed bumblebee

This red-tailed bumblebee, Bombus lapidarius, was sashaying her shimmering red bum in the sunshine.Photo of red-tailed bumblebee

They are very distinctive and easy to recognise bees. The workers have the same colouring as the queen, black with a red bottom,but are smaller, whereas the males have additional yellow faces and a yellow stripe on their thorax.Photo of red-tailed bumblebeeYou can see how fuzzy she is when she poses nicely for a rim-lit photo.Photo of red-tailed bumblebee

I think the other bumblebee is a queen buff-tailed bumblebee, Bombus terrestris. Confusingly the males and workers have white bottoms.

As you can see the flowering currant is still flowering.

The daffodils finally bloomed.

Despite the rain they kept their heads held high.Photo of daffodils in rain

The primroses are still going strong.Photo of primrose

The dog violets have been joined by white dog violets.

The grape hyacinths, Muscari, are multiplying.Photo of muscari

The aubrieta is making its presence known.Photo of aubrieta

The broom (which I had mistaken for a type of gorse!) is developing fuzzy flower buds.Photo of broom buds

The lilac continues its unstoppable progress.Photo of lilac

The lesser celandine is littering the lawn.Photo of lesser celandine

The periwinkle is winking out from under the shadows.Photo of periwinkle

The apple is starting to think about blossoming, framed by forsythia.Photo of apple buds

Herb Robert is in the pink.Photo of herb robert

Whatever this is is producing pretty white flowers.Photo of white blossoms

My neighbour’s plant that grows over the top of the fence is also providing me with a free supply of white flowers.Photo of white flowers

I nearly forgot the forget-me-nots.Photo of forget-me-nots

And finally, the tulips that I planted in the autumn have actually grown and are threatening to flower!Photo of tulip

Update: A friend on Twitter has identified my white flowering shrubby thing to be an Amelanchier.

 
20 thoughts on “Bumblebees and Flowers

  1. What absolutely gorgeous photos! Which camera do you use? I’m using just my iPhone at the moment but it’s pretty pants to be honest! Some of my photos just do not come out as I imagined them! I love the bee photos especially. We have loads on our cherry tree at the moment so you have inspired me to find my old camera with a zoom to try to photograph them. Interestingly, it’s been very sunny and dry in Wiltshire in March so I have tulips flowering already and all my daffodils have gone over. It’s proving to be a very sunny day today so I’m going to attempt some path building and more weeding!

Leave a Reply

